Zum Inhalt wechseln

Foto
* * * * * 1 Stimmen

Error mounting EFI and now also installing clover into ESP


  • Bitte melde dich an um zu Antworten
29 Antworten in diesem Thema

#1 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 18:57 Uhr

After completely giving up on my z87 rig i attempted to install os x on my main rig, an x99 ud5, gtx 970, 5820k. I managed to finish the install and then patch the install (bob roche's video guide). I used the bootflags -v -x -f npci=0x2000 cpus=0 nv_disable=1 to manage to install os x and get into os x. I then proceeded to install clover, which after some fiddling was a success. When opening the EFI Mounter (v2) i get a message "Would you like to mount or unmount EFI partition" although i never even created such a partition. If i try to unmount it, i get an error message saying that it is not mounted and if i try to mount it i get an empty folder. I need some advice on this. Thanks.


Update 1: When trying to create a partition with the command "mkdir /Volumes/efi" it says that it already exists. Then i go on to delete the partition with the command: rm -rf /Volumes/EFI. I then redo the command to make the directory and this time i get no error. HOWEVER, when i then try to mount the efi, either with the efi mounter or using the command "sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi" i get the error "no such file or directory". WTF! I just created it and now it's telling me there isn't one.


Update 2: When trying to recreate the EFI partition using "sudo newfs_msdos -v EFI -F 32 /dev/disk0s1" i get one (or both) of the following errors: "msdos table is unavailable" or "/dev/disk0s1 is not a character device". When i do mount it with efi mounter as previously mentioned, i get an empty EFI folder.


Update 3: After reinstalling OS 10.10.4 multiple times (making sure to erase the drive before reinstalling), i cannot use the same settings to install clover (emu, fix1 and fix2). 

Update 4: I managed to install clover by unchecking the "install to esp", but i would like it to be installed on the esp -.-. Oh and on a side note, why is my screen displaying such low resolution, i get that when i install windows but in windows it is easily changed while on mac os x i am stuck at 1 resolution (probs just gotta install nvidia driver so this isn't a big issue atm). When mounting with efi mounter i once again get a message saying "do you want to mount efi or unmount" even though i didn't select anything, it doesn't look like anything which is shown on tutorials.

A short video outlining my problem: http://youtu.be/HGFNv-9_o8E



#2 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:06 Uhr

So there are much things to say:

To your resolution:

If you are booting in UEFI CSM Mode you need the CSM Driver to have full resolution.

Much better would be to disable the csm mode if your components are uefi compatibel.

 

This will not work: "sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi"

If the Folder /Volumes/EFI was created, because it is case sensitive.

If you have more disk in it you have first to find out the correct hdd (it´s not every time in the correct order). "diskutil list" will do that 

 

 

Unmount: You are only able to umnount the partition with the diskutil.

diskutil unmount /Volumes/EFI

 

And just for info: cpus=0 is not a good idea. 

If you need to restrict the cpu´s write cpus=1.

CPU restriction is just a workarround to boot the first time.

Later it has to be solved.

Webi has to install voodootscsync on his x99 rig.

 

Before i forget something:

You can not install OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi and OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi togheter.

Because they are using totaly different solutions to do the same thing.

The OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi also supports hibernating and not just normal sleep.

So if OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi is working use this driver.


  • lord_webi, qsecofr und Gibusmaster99 gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#3 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:17 Uhr

So there are much things to say:

To your resolution:

If you are booting in UEFI CSM Mode you need the CSM Driver to have full resolution.

Much better would be to disable the csm mode if your components are uefi compatibel.

 

This will not work: "sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi"

If the Folder /Volumes/EFI was created, because it is case sensitive.

If you have more disk in it you have first to find out the correct hdd (it´s not every time in the correct order). "diskutil list" will do that 

 

 

Unmount: You are only able to umnount the partition with the diskutil.

diskutil unmount /Volumes/EFI

 

And just for info: cpus=0 is not a good idea. 

If you need to restrict the cpu´s write cpus=1.

CPU restriction is just a workarround to boot the first time.

Later it has to be solved.

Webi has to install voodootscsync on his x99 rig.

I get an error when trying to unmount using diskutil ("Unmount failed for /Volumes/EFI").

I can't install voodootscsync because i haven't yet mounted the EFI.

As for cpus=0, thanks for the info.

 

Any ideas on what could be the issue of mounting and/or unmounting the EFI volume?



#4 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:21 Uhr

Use the following commands in terminal:

To find correct disk:

diskutil list

To create the folder:

mkdir /Volumes/EFI

To mount drive: (the X in diskXs1 stand for the disknumber)

sudo mount_msdos /dev/diskXs1 /Volumes/EFI
 

This process is always working if the EFI Partition was made correctly.

 

 

Just for information:

You can also install kexts into /System/Library/Extensions.

You don´t have to use the clover folders to do that.

 

 

That i posted later on the post before:

Before i forget something:

You can not install OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi and OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi togheter.

Because they are using totaly different solutions to do the same thing.

The OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi also supports hibernating and not just normal sleep.

So if OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi is working use this driver.


  • lord_webi und Gibusmaster99 gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#5 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:34 Uhr

Use the following commands in terminal:

To find correct disk:

diskutil list

To create the folder:

mkdir /Volumes/EFI

To mount drive: (the X in diskXs1 stand for the disknumber)

sudo mount_msdos /dev/diskXs1 /Volumes/EFI
 

This process is always working if the EFI Partition was made correct.

 

 

Just for information:

You can also install kexts into /System/Library/Extensions.

You don´t have to use the clover folders to do that.

 

 

That i posted later on the post before:

Before i forget something:

You can not install OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi and OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi togheter.

Because they are using totaly different solutions to do the same thing.

The OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi also supports hibernating and not just normal sleep.

So if OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi is working use this driver.

Thanks for the helpful information regarding where i can install those kexts. I did as you suggested in that regard.

 

However, the commands you suggested do not work for me.

 

The commands:

"mkdir /Volumes/EFI" "sudo newfs_msdos -v EFI -F 32 /dev/rdisk0s1" do not work. I get an error message which says "mkdir /Volumes/EFI already exists" or if i delete it (or it is a fresh install) then it supposedly works HOWEVER when i try to open it (command-shift-g then the folder location) it gives me the error message that "the folder can't be found".

When i try to unmount it using the command: "sudo umount -f /Volumes/EFI killall Finder", i get the error message "/Volumes/EFI: not currently mounted.
When using the "sudo fsck_msdos /dev/disk0s1" command then it says that there are 8 files in that volume. No other error message though.
 
Thanks for your help thus far.


#6 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:35 Uhr

Not newfs_msdos for the mount:

Use mount_msods.

 

newfs_msdos will create a new fat32 filesystem.

If you use it it will partition it totaly new and everything on it get´s deleted.

 

I wrote the commands correct below.

 

If you select ESP in Clover Setup everything will be made automaticly.

 

If you want to create it new use the follwoing: (Everything on it will be deleted)

sudo newfs_msdos -v EFI -F32 /dev/disk0s1

  • lord_webi gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#7 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:43 Uhr

Not newfs_msdos for the mount:

Use mount_msods.

 

newfs_msdos will create a new fat32 filesystem.

If you use it it will partition it totaly new and everything on it get´s deleted.

 

I wrote the commands correct below.

 

If you select ESP in Clover Setup everything will be made automaticly.

Well, if i use mount_msdos then i get the error message "mount_msdos: msdos filesystem is not available.".

As i explained in my post and in my first video i cannot install clover if i select "install in esp".

I will be uploading another video in a few minutes (http://youtu.be/t540tgqQERM)


Bearbeitet von Gibusmaster99, 20 August 2015 - 19:46 Uhr.


#8 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:44 Uhr

You command below was incorrect to create it new:

sudo newfs_msdos -v EFI -F32 /dev/disk0s1

A other idea:

post your ouput from diskutil list.

Maybe you created your partitions not with osx, then there is no efi drive.

In this case you need to create your partitions new.

 

It has to look like that: (recovery is not important)

/dev/disk0
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *120.0 GB   disk0
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS OS                      119.2 GB   disk0s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3

  • lord_webi gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#9 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:56 Uhr

 

You command below was incorrect to create it new:

sudo newfs_msdos -v EFI -F32 /dev/disk0s1

A other idea:

post your ouput from diskutil list.

Maybe you created your partitions not with osx, then there is no efi drive.

In this case you need to create your partitions new.

 

It has to look like that: (recovery is not important)

 

Hmm, well even using the command you just provided, all i get is an empty EFI folder.

Anyway, here is the diskutil list output:

e9a5a6b5c1.jpg

Angehängte Dateien



#10 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 19:58 Uhr

looooool.... It write it a few times that the msdosfs.kext is not able to load below in your pic.

You are in safe mode.

Default mount_msdos is not working in safe mode.

That´s the reason why everything is not working.

 

 

Are you able to go in normal mode.

Otherwise a kext has to be manipulated.


  • lord_webi und Gibusmaster99 gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#11 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 20:01 Uhr

looooool.... It write it a few times that the msdosfs.kext is not able to load below in your pic.

You are in safe mode.

Default mount_msdos is not working in safe mode.

That´s the reason why everything is not working.

 

 

Are you able to go in normal mode.

Otherwise a kext has to be manipulated.

Woops.

Well i don't quite know how to boot into default (non-safe mode). I always boot into safe mode for some odd reason, perhaps its some of the bootflags i use, but without all of them i cannot boot :S.

Which kext do i have to manipulate in order to boot into normal / default mode?

 

EDIT1: Would this command work? sudo nvram boot-args=""


Bearbeitet von Gibusmaster99, 20 August 2015 - 20:03 Uhr.


#12 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 20:02 Uhr

the -x flag is for safe mode.

 

Remove it.

 

If you are again in normal mode install clover again new in ESP and it will work.

Don´t install Fix2 and Fix together in it.


  • lord_webi und Gibusmaster99 gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#13 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 20:19 Uhr

the -x flag is for safe mode.

 

Remove it.

 

If you are again in normal mode install clover again new in ESP and it will work.

Don´t install Fix2 and Fix together in it.

Well now i have another, probably minor, problem.

When logging in (after putting in my password) i get a spinning wheel which won't stop.

71d3c2e618.jpg



#14 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 20:32 Uhr

I don´t know this error.

Maybe a problem with your graphicscard.

Do you still use nv_disable=1.

 

 

To use msdosfs.kext in safe-mode you need to manipulate the info.plist of it.

Patch msdosfs.kext Info.plist for add OSBundleRequired="Console".


  • lord_webi gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#15 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 20:41 Uhr

I don´t know this error.

Maybe a problem with your graphicscard.

Do you still use nv_disable=1.

 

 

To use msdosfs.kext in safe-mode you need to manipulate the info.plist of it.

Patch msdosfs.kext Info.plist for add OSBundleRequired="Console".

I always use nv_disable=1 in my bootflags. I will try it only with -v npci=0x2000 cpus=1 and will let you know how it works out.

How do i edit the info.plist of a kext? (and where do i find it)



#16 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 20:44 Uhr

The kext is in /System/Library/Extensions of course.

It will not work without nv_disable=1 because your graphicscard is not working with the apple drivers, just the nvidia webdriver will work with it.

 

You will have to solve this error anyway.

 

How do you boot now? Where is the bootloader?

If you still boot via UEFI the fix2 and fix can trigger such a problem together.


  • lord_webi gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#17 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 20:54 Uhr

The kext is in /System/Library/Extensions of course.

It will not work without nv_disable=1 because your graphicscard is not working with the apple drivers, just the nvidia webdriver will work with it.

 

You will have to solve this error anyway.

 

How do you boot now? Where is the bootloader?

If you still boot via UEFI the fix2 and fix can trigger such a problem together.

Right now i tried booting with -v npci=0x2000 cpus=1 and got this error: https://puu.sh/jItC9/a23d9fb820.jpg

I am booting from the uni beast bootloader, so probably from my USB.

Could i download the nvidia webdriver and copy it to the usb and then just install it or do i need internet for that?


Bearbeitet von Gibusmaster99, 20 August 2015 - 20:54 Uhr.


#18 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 20 August 2015 - 21:22 Uhr

Update2: I do have good news though, i managed to install clover into the esp with my previous settings :)

Perhaps we could skype tomorrow and resolve the issue (would be faster than chatting on a forum and i could speak german to you). I also have a camera to point at my monitor so that you can observe what i am doing.

 

My bootflags are: -v -f npci=0x2000 cpus=1 nv_disable=1

 

Update3: I managed to get the EFI mounted despite the error (resource busy) and i have installed the nvidia driver. The computer is still very slow and choppy, perhaps because i am running it off the USB stick. When i restarted and hit "boot on/from mac (local disk)" on the clover boot menu i got a circle with a cross in it. I then started it up via the USB and enabled verbose mode for clover.

This is what i got with verbose mode: https://puu.sh/jID89/a62f29cb48.jpg

What would you suggest i do?


Bearbeitet von Gibusmaster99, 20 August 2015 - 23:27 Uhr.


#19 OFFLINE   wastez

wastez

    ./DSDT86/TimeVortex

  • Administrators
  • 1.391 Beiträge
  • OSX:10.12
  • Motherboard: GA-Z87X-D3H
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 4570
  • Grafikkarte: NVIDIA GT640
Zeige Hardware
2 Hardware Favorit(en)

Geschrieben 21 August 2015 - 14:04 Uhr

So you are starting just clover or the hole os from the usb stick?

 

If you can´t start clover from the hdd, don´t forget that you choosed ESP boot and you have to select UEFI Boot from the correct Path /EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.efi

Legacy Boot from Master Boot Record is not working with this setting.


  • lord_webi gefällt das

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H

CPU: Intel Core i5 4570 - 3,6 GHz in Turbo Mode 

RAM: Crucial BallistiX Sport 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz 

Graphics: Zotac NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2048 MB Zone Edition - personal modded vbios to support UEFI GOP

Sound: Realtek ALC892 - AppleHDA - on the fly patch via Clover

Display: LG 29EA93 - 29" - 21:9 @2560x1080 

 

10.12 macOS Sierra   | Vanilla Kernel | Clover Bootloader - pure UEFI boot - Komponenten werden via dsdt injiziert!!!

 

Hackbook: Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 running on macOS Sierra -- xcpm via kernelpatch enabled --> everything working.... 

 

DataStore:  SelfBuilt NAS - Asrock Q1900-ITX - OpenMediaVault - read: 117 mb/s write: 110 mb/s


#20 OFFLINE   Gibusmaster99

Gibusmaster99

    ./Member

  • Members
  • PIPPIP
  • 15 Beiträge
  • Motherboard: GA-X99-UD5 WIFI
  • CPU: Intel i7-5820K
  • Grafikkarte: GTX 970

Geschrieben 21 August 2015 - 15:45 Uhr

So you are starting just clover or the hole os from the usb stick?

 

If you can´t start clover from the hdd, don´t forget that you choosed ESP boot and you have to select UEFI Boot from the correct Path /EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.efi

Legacy Boot from Master Boot Record is not working with this setting.

Oh right. Thanks for that, now i can boot into clover :D

I do have some other, perhaps minor, problems though:

1) My mouse is so choppy all the time, any way around that?

2) I get white bars all over my screen (screen tearing and artifacting, i did not have this problem when running windows) (i use nv_disable=1 to boot every single time otherwise it won't work, nvda_drv=1 and removing disable will not work for me (can provide screenie if required))

3) My resolution is stuck at 1280 x 800 although my monitor is 1920 x 1080, any way to fix this?

4) The overall performance is very sluggish even though i have good specs (500GB MX100 SSD, 5820K, 970)

 

PS I am using the latest nvidia web drivers.


Bearbeitet von Gibusmaster99, 21 August 2015 - 15:45 Uhr.





Aktive Besucher in diesem Forum: 1

Mitglieder: 0, Gäste: 1, unsichtbare Mitglieder: 0